January 18, 2019

Dr. Philip Anderson honored for volunteer work

Dr. Philip Anderson of the School of Dentistry affiliate faculty received a Volunteer Community Recognition Award at Thursday’s Martin Luther King Jr. Tribute program at UW Health Sciences.

December 18, 2018

3 faculty members receive school’s top honor

The School of Dentistry honored three faculty members on Monday with the presentation of its annual Bruce R. Rothwell Teaching Awards, the school’s highest such recognition.

January 30, 2018

Student competition winners announced at Research Day

At the School of Dentistry’s annual Research Day on Tuesday, Kristie Cheng was announced as the winner of the Summer Research Fellowship (SURF) Student Clinician Competition. Cheng, a second-year dental student, presented a study of factors affecting citation rates in oral and maxillofacial surgery.

January 29, 2018

Dr. Avina Paranjpe selected for leadership training program

Dr. Avina Paranjpe, Associate Professor in the Department of Endodontics, has received a fellowship to attend the 2018-19 American Dental Education Association (ADEA) Leadership Institute.

September 27, 2017

Prosthodontics students take honors in research competition

Dr. Michele Buda and Dr. Konstantina Angelara, recently graduated residents in the School of Dentistry’s Graduate Prosthodontics program, have won first and third place respectively in the American Academy of Fixed Prosthodontics’ annual Tylman Award competition.

June 8, 2017

Wands Fellow in prosthodontics named for 2017-18

The University of Washington School of Dentistry has announced the award of the David H. Wands Fellowship in Graduate Prosthodontics for 2017-18 to Dr. Jack Keesler.

October 25, 2016

UW regional dental education program wins national award

A groundbreaking School of Dentistry program that seeks to improve access to dental care in rural and underserved areas of Washington state has received the top award in dental education.

October 26, 2015

2 faculty, alumna sweep evidence-based dentistry awards

Two University of Washington School of Dentistry faculty members and one alumna have received all three of the 2015 Evidence-Based Dentistry (EBD) Faculty and Practice Awards given by the American Dental Association (ADA) and American Association for Dental Research (AADR), the organizations have announced.

June 2, 2015

Dr. Natasha Flake receives 2nd national teaching award

Dr. Natasha Flake, Associate Professor in the Department of Endodontics, has received the 2016 Edward M. Osetek Educator Award from the American Association of Endodontists (AAE), the organization has announced.

April 9, 2015

Dr. Atriya Salamati named UW Magnuson Scholar

Dr. Atriya Salamati, a PhD candidate in oral biology at the School of Dentistry, has been named a 2015-16 University of Washington Magnuson Scholar, one of the UW’s highest awards.

October 3, 2014

Dr. Dodson wins Gies Award as specialty educator

Dr. Thomas Dodson, Chair of the Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, has received a William J. Gies Foundation Award for distinguished achievement as a specialty dental educator.

June 2, 2014

OKU honorary awards scholarships, inducts new members

The UW chapter of the Omicron Kappa Upsilon dental honorary society awarded scholarships to the top two students in each of the classes of 2015, 2016 and 2017 and also inducted new faculty and graduating student members at its annual banquet on May 28 at the UW Club.

April 1, 2014

Three students receive national scholarship awards

School of Dentistry students Jose Mendoza, Chelsea Momany and Todd Billington have received national scholarship awards.

December 16, 2013

Dr. Beirne, Dr. Johnson receive Rothwell teaching awards

Dr. O. Ross Beirne of the UW Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery and Dr. Glen Johnson of the UW Department of Restorative Dentistry have received the 2013 Bruce R. Rothwell Distinguished Teaching Awards, the School of Dentistry’s highest teaching honor.

November 15, 2013

Jonathan An wins ADA student research award

Third-year student Jonathan An won the American Dental Association’s Student Clinician Scholar Award during the ADA’s annual session in New Orleans earlier this month.