Skip to content

Alumni News

Dr. Linda Edgar to become ADA President

Linda Edgar
This fall, Dr. Linda Edgar (’92) will attain the pinnacle of her profession: the presidency of the American Dental Association. Last October, the ADA House of Delegates voted to make her president-elect, with a one-year term that leads directly into the presidency. She will be the first UW School of Dentistry graduate to hold the office. “I am very interested in creating a personal touch with more communications to members and a desire for ADA to be there for members when they need us the most,” Dr. Edgar said. “New dentists have told us they want a personal touch, mentor programs, and more reasonably priced, hands-on, intensive continuing education.”

Dr. Bertha Barriga’s $2.7M gift

Dr. Bertha Barriga
Decades ago, the late Dr. Bertha Barriga (Pedo ’71) had already made her mark as one of the relatively few female graduates of our School of Dentistry. Even with Dr. Barriga’s passing in August 2021, her impact will not diminish: She left a legacy gift of $2.7 million that will enable the elevation of the Department of Pediatric Dentistry’s Law-Lewis Endowed Professorship to an endowed chair. While this was a planned gift, the amount still came as a stunning, wonderful surprise when the estate was settled. Even so, its magnitude was foreshadowed by Dr. Barriga’s long history as a generous and devoted supporter of our School, with a total of $130,000 in gifts before her ultimate one.

Dr. Burt Goodman named WSDA Citizen of the Year

Burton Goodman
Dr. Burt Goodman (’53), a longtime pillar of the state dental community who received the Washington State Dental Association (WSDA) President’s Award in 1996, was named WSDA Citizen of the Year in January. Hallmarks of his career included his commitment to serving people in need and supporting young dentists. He was also a founding member and later president of the Washington State Dental Service Corporation, which became Washington Dental Service and eventually Delta Dental of Washington.

Dr. John Kois named 2023 Distinguished Alumnus

Dr. John Kois
Dr. John C. Kois (Grad Pros ’82), founder and director of the famed Kois Center in Seattle, was honored as the School of Dentistry’s Distinguished Alumnus at the annual Dean’s Club Dinner in Seattle on May 6. Dr. Kois has earned wide acclaim as a dental educator through his work with the Kois Center, which is self-funded and accepts no external sponsorships. It has its own research arm and updates course material constantly as new research is disseminated. The Center also conducts an annual symposium to review recently published dental science and to present speakers who are pioneers in their field.