UW School of Dentistry

Dean’s Club

The UW School of Dentistry Dean’s Club was established in 1983 with a core mission to maintain and enhance the School’s international reputation for excellence in dental education.

Sid Gallegos

Dr. Sidney Gallegos, President, Dean’s Club Board of Trustees.

Annual donors of $1,000 or more to any fund within the School of Dentistry during the academic year (July 1 to June 30) are recognized as members of The Dean’s Club. Recognition is bestowed on alumni who received their first UW Dentistry degree in the past five years, with gifts of $250 or more.

Dean’s Club members view their support as an investment in the future of the profession by ensuring a strong center for dental education, research, and community service at the University of Washington.

Dean’s Club Board of Trustees

Dean’s Club President: Sidney Gallegos ’81
Immediate Past President: Patrick Taylor ’88 (Endodontics)

Jason Bourne `01
Mike Buehler `74
Guillermo Chacon `00
Mark Drangsholt `84
Sarah Fraker `98

Sidney Gallegos `81
Mark Grace `94
Susan Hollinsworth `78
Heidi Horwitz `83
Michael Johnson `82

David Minahan `75
Diane Oakes
Patricia Rothwell `84
Mark Walker `77
Douglas Walsh ’78

Honor Roll of Annual Donors 2015-2016 (PDF)

Drs. McGraw and Shapiro honored

Dr. James C. McGraw (Endo ’69) and Dr. Peter Shapiro (Ortho ’73) were honored on April 30 at the Dean’s Club dinner, held at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Bellevue, Wash.

Dr. Jim McGraw with award

Dr. James C. McGraw shows off his Honorary Lifetime Member Award after the dinner.

Dr. McGraw received the 2016 Dean’s Club Honorary Lifetime Member Award and Dr. Shapiro received the 2016 Distinguished Alumnus Award in front of about 290 people, the largest crowd ever at the annual dinner. Dr. McGraw delivered an anecdote-filled acceptance speech liberally laced with humor, while Dr. Shapiro, who was unable to attend because of a long-standing out-of-town family commitment, accepted via a taped video message.

Dr. McGraw was honored for a long record of exemplary service to the School of Dentistry, including 24 years as a Department of Endodontics faculty member and nearly 20 years on the School’s Admissions Committee. He has also served on the Endodontics and International DDS admissions committees, as well as the Ethics and Professionalism Committee. In addition, Dr. McGraw has been an influential advocate for inclusiveness during his long service on the Partners in Diversity Committee, which he helped found. He also has mentored numerous students and given substantial financial support to scholarships, Partners in Diversity, and the Robert J. Oswald and David L. Pitts Endowed Professorship in Endodontics, the department’s first endowed professorship.

Dr. Peter Shapiro head shot

Dr. Peter Shapiro

A charter member of the Dean’s Club, Dr. McGraw was also honored in 2010 with the Distinguished Alumnus award for a career in dentistry that has included the presidency of the Washington State Dental Association, American Association of Endodontists and the Seattle King County Dental Society, and the first vice presidency of the American Dental Association. He was also a founding member of the Washington State Association of Endodontists.

Dr. Shapiro was honored for a career that included distinguished leadership of the Department of Orthodontics as its Chair from 1984 to 1995 after joining the faculty in 1973. His worldwide lectures with the late Dr. Vincent G. Kokich (’71, Ortho ’74) profoundly influenced the field of orthodontics and helped establish the Department of Orthodontics as a globally prominent center of clinical practice and research.

Bloomquist and York display award

Dr. Dale Bloomquist (’69) accepts the Distinguished Alumnus Award from Dr. Carrie York (’91, GPR ’92) on behalf of his close friend, Dr. Peter Shapiro, who was unable to attend.

Dr. Shapiro’s honors include membership in the Omicron Kappa Upsilon dental honorary society, the R.R. McIntyre Memorial Lectureship of the Canadian Foundation for the Advancement of Orthodontics, the Arthur Thornton-Taylor Memorial Lectureship of the Australian Society of Orthodontists, Fellow of the American College of Dentists, and the Dale B. Wade Award of Excellence in Orthodontics from the American Board of Orthodontics. He has also compiled an outstanding record of support for the School that earned him the 2012 Dean’s Club Honorary Lifetime Member Award and designation as a UW Benefactor.