Skip to content
Pre-Recorded Online Courses

Bloodborne Pathogens Online Training

Developed by staff and faculty at the University of Washington, School of Dentistry

Target Audience: Any individual with a job that could expose them to a Bloodborne Pathogen

Credits: 2 hours

Tuition: $50/person

Course Description

In 1992, the state of Washington enacted a law mandating annual training for all individuals with jobs that could expose them to a Bloodborne Pathogen (BBP). This module is designed to provide you with the training necessary to keep you and your patients safe and to make sure you are compliant with the Washington state law training requirement.

Course Objectives

  • Familiarize you with the kinds of bloodborne pathogens (BBP) found in the dental office, describe the risk they pose to you and patients, and teach you preventative measures to avoid risk of exposure.
  • Assist you in developing an exposure control plan for mitigating risk of exposure in your office.
  • Fulfill your Washington state annual BBP training requirement.


Simply register online. You will be directed to UW CDE’s secure online registration. Register for “Bloodborne Pathogens Training”. You will receive an emailed confirmation letter with instructions and links to both the slides and an online exam. After reading the slides, please take the exam.  Once you have passed the exam, UW CDE will email you a certificate of completion and an Annual Bloodborne Pathogens Training certificate in approximately one week.  You will have until June 30th of the current CDE course year (September – June) to complete the training.

  • If you do not complete the training by June 30th of the current CDE course year (September – June), you will have to sign up for the course again. No refunds will be given for online courses.

Washington State Dentists and Online Course Materials

Please note that per WAC 246-817-440-4bi, while there is no longer a limit to the number of hours Washington State dentists may take for continuing education provided online, please note that for pre-recorded or other forms of non-live presentations where there is not an instructor presenting in real-time and able to respond to questions in real-time, thirty minutes will count for every one hour completed for this type of activity.

For this course, although we estimate two hours of effort, Washington State Dentists may only claim one hour of continuing dental education credit.