UW School of Dentistry

Oral surgery society recognizes 3 faculty members

Three members of the School of Dentistry’s Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery received awards last month at the annual meeting of the American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons (AAOMS) in Las Vegas.

From left: Dr. Lou Rafetto, AAOMS president, joins Dr. Thomas Dodson, Dr. Srini Chandra, and Dr. O. Ross Beirne at the AAOMS meetings.
From left: Dr. Lou Rafetto, AAOMS president, joins Dr. Thomas Dodson, Dr. Srini Chandra, and Dr. O. Ross Beirne at the AAOMS meetings.

Dr. Thomas Dodson, the current department chair, received the AAOMS Clinical Research Award, and Dr. O. Ross Beirne, who stepped down from the chair in 2009, received the Daniel M. Laskin Award for Outstanding Pre-doctoral Educator. Dr. Srini Chandra, Clinical Assistant Professor, received one of the three Faculty Educator Development Awards given nationally.

Dr. Dodson, who became chair in 2013, was honored for a wide-ranging body of work that includes establishing clinical markers to identify victims of domestic abuse, establishing guidelines for the care of patients with HIV, and evaluating mandatory seat-belt laws. He also has studied the risks and repair of nerve injury and management of giant-cell tumors.

In addition to holding the department chair, Dr. Dodson is associate dean for hospital affairs at the School of Dentistry. He is associate editor of the Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery and principal investigator for an AAOMS-sponsored nationwide study assessing outcomes on office-based anesthesia and third molar (wisdom tooth) extractions. Additionally, he co-authored two AAOMS white papers on medication-related osteonecrosis of the jaw.

Dr. Dodson has twice received the Laskin Award, in 2003 and 2010 from the Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Foundation of the AAOMS, for the best scientific paper published in the Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery.

Dr. Beirne, who is Professor of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at the UW, received the Laskin Award given by AAOMS in recognition of his commitment to pre-doctoral education. He served as department chair at the UW for more than 10 years before stepping down to devote more time to teaching, patient care and research.

Under his leadership, the department expanded its resident training program and pre-doctoral course offerings, enlarged its presence at Seattle Children’s hospital, and added pre-doctoral clinical rotations at Harborview Medical Center. In addition, Harborview shifted the focus of its dental clinic from hospital dentistry to oral and maxillofacial surgery.

Dr. Beirne is a diplomate of the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery and the National Dental Board of Anesthesiology, and serves as a reviewer for multiple journals.

Dr. Chandra, who joined the faculty in 2014, received the faculty development award, which is sponsored by AAOMS and supported by AAOMS and the Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Foundation. Its purpose is to encourage promising young oral and maxillofacial surgeons to pursue a long-term faculty career in the specialty or to encourage those who have been on faculty for up to five years to continue on that path.

Dr. Chandra teaches primarily at the School’s satellite clinic at Harborview Medical Center, with a focus on oncology and microvascular reconstruction. He is the second faculty member in the department to receive the award, with Dr. Jasjit Dillon having received it in 2010.

“I’m very proud of these three outstanding faculty members,” Dean Joel Berg said. “They’re all fine examples of why our School enjoys a global reputation for excellence.”