UW School of Dentistry

Dr. Emily Chu selected as UW Magnuson Scholar

Dr. Emily Chu, a first-year graduate student in the School of Dentistry’s DDS/PhD program, has been selected as a 2013-14 University of Washington Magnuson Scholar.

Six students, one from each UW Health Sciences school, received the $30,000 award.  Among the highest awards granted by the UW, it goes to students chosen on the basis of academic performance and potential contributions to research in the health sciences.

Dr. ChuDr. Chu is studying craniofacial development and dental disorders for her PhD in oral biology, and she distinguished herself with a host of awards before receiving her DDS from the UW in 2012. In that year alone, these included the Quintessence Award for Research Achievement, the Academy of General Dentistry and William Howard Student Case Presentation Competition Award, the Academy of Dental Materials Award and the American Association of Oral Biologists Award.

“I feel very honored to be selected as a recipient of the Magnuson award,” Dr. Chu said. “I am very thankful for all the support I have received at the UW, and I hope to make the School of Dentistry proud.”

Dr. Chu, a native of Worcester, Mass., has lived in the Seattle area most of her life. She received her BA in biology and mathematics from Washington University in St. Louis in 2006 and pursued graduate studies at the School of Dentistry as a research scientist in the Department of Periodontics until beginning her DDS studies in 2008. While studying for her PhD, she also works as an associate dentist at a practice in Kent, Wash.

“We take great pride in Emily Chu’s achievements and her selection for this extremely competitive UW award,” said Dean Joel Berg. “Our Magnuson Scholars are tomorrow’s leaders in health sciences research, and I’m looking forward to the contributions that Dr. Chu will make to our School of Dentistry and oral health.”

The Magnuson Scholars program commemorates the late Sen. Warren G. Magnuson of Washington, a leading advocate of biomedical research who played a key role in establishing the National Institutes of Health, Medicare and Medicaid.

This year’s other Magnuson Scholars are Alan Kwan (Medicine), Sunniva Zaratkiewicz (Nursing), William Canestaro (Pharmacy), Cynthia Curl (Public Health) and Charles Hoy-Ellis (Social Work).